whats on your mind influences

For my project I have chosen to use what’s on your mind, my first plan was to use games as my inspiration as they are art however while talking to my lecturer I realised an issue with this it lacks the same amount of context witch is very important if I use a psychological horror base.

For example silent hill 2 is widely considered an extremely subtle psychological horror however of explaining the nurse design I would have to explain why James Sunderland (the protagonist) sees them in the way he does, because I would have to explain : his sexual frustration, the ambiguity / contusion of the faces, the negatives depiction of nurses (due to the failed treatment of his wife thus resulting in his decision of euthanising her.)

this would be extremely hard to communicate in a single image as such it may work in a set of images but even then i would like to use at least 12 images as such this would not work and the only image that may work is very overt and would not apply to me.

437494f1a0153d5e0c8f5206ce52e6d2

as such, I considered what influences me and found the issue, in order the medium that in order are games, music, photography, animation and traditional art (however I lack knowledge in this area more so than the others)

 

however, games on average are often multi-hour experiences and can use a ludo narratives to give far more stability and depth to the whole experience for an extremely effective use of this I would recommend Undertale.

music, these can be extremely effective due the layering and use of repetition making this somewhat relatable to a series of images or a film, taking influence from a song would be hard in a single image unless the salty of the song and its context were lost somewhat, for an example of these, grandma: neir ost,  dancer of the boreal valley,  the great wolf Sif and The other promise all of which can be found on youtube.

photography, as for photographic influences I am unsure how many others directly influence me, there are people like daniel Tunstallhowever while i like some of her images there are many flaws throughout the pieces, i may put up some writeups that go into more details about each of these, as for other photographers Andy Warhol, Martin Parr, steven green and Ray Sence

animation, this is something that i have been used to for a large majority of my life with styles used in both western and eastern animation mostly being Disney and studio gibbly where both of these studios have different styles and aesthetics as well as use of symbolism in both subjects and colour pallets this intern has effected my taste in art as a whole and the narrative found within a piece which i  feel is a detrimental to my photographic practice as I think this hs given me a focus on symbolism and horror which as a whole influences me to illustrate a photograph via the use of make-up, prosthetics and photoshop all of which have driven me towards studio based photography. for examples of what has inspired me: toy story, grave of the fireflys, Akira, east of eadon, bleach and fantasia.

 

traditional art for this I feel that most of my influences came from expressionism pieces like scream as I felt that photorealism or other high detail pieces while technically fasonating they were made rather redundant by photography.

Leave a Reply

